When and Why use the Publish option?
Once the bot is ready and needs to be taken live on the production environment, that is when you need to use the publish option. On clicking the Publish button, the bot is made available in the production environment as well.
Staging is our Development environment and Production is our Live environment
Only the bot and Business are needed to be published, a new Account on production should be created before the publishing process.
The Business Manager should be published to production before the bot.
Points to remember
- In the case where you are using Web SDK, you will need to update the Base URL according to the bot in production i.e., once you published the bot to the production environment using the View Credentials option you will find the new base URL which you can update in the JS Snippet.
- You will have to update the bot credentials according to the production bot credentials. For example, if you are using the Account id in the code step, you will have to change the keys according to the production environment keys.